View online edition



A total of 58 CCTEC seniors are awarded college degree prior to high school graduation.

Through a unique collaboration between Cumberland County Technical Education Center and Rowan College of South Jersey, 58 seniors have earned their Associate of Liberal Arts degrees. Their achievement was honored with a festive drive-by graduation ceremony held on the college campus last week.

All CCTEC students, as part of the Early College High School program, obtain approximately 30 college credits for their high school coursework. Students who wished to pursue their degree enrolled in more coursework directly through RCSJ from sophomore to senior year.

In addition to the rigorous academic program, the graduates fit in AP coursework, jobs, sports, community service, and other extracurricular activities. Dr. Katelyn Skinner, assistant principal, is proud of the students and “the amount of time and dedication they have put into achieving both of these honors while facing the many challenges of this past year. It is an incredible accomplishment.”

The 58 graduates are excited to further their education. Luke Vastano, a CCTEC senior, believes he “was given the chance to see exactly what college is and how difficult it can be. As a result, I feel very well-prepared for college.” Notably, seniors Zeel Patel and Alexis Spencer will be heading to the Ivy League—University of Pennsylvania and Princeton University, respectively.

Principal Greg McGraw says of the 58 seniors, “They managed a rigorous course load at CCTEC while simultaneously taking college-level courses after school and over the summer. Their dedication to their studies has provided them with significant cost savings as they transition to four-year colleges and universities and/or pursue advanced technical certifications.”

Congratulations to the following students for their accomplishment!

Alexsia Almodovar; Joy Asselta; Trinity Bagnati; Steven Beltran; Mathieu Carroll; Jose Chanez; Gino Costanzo; Aleikza Diaz; Amber Dickinson; Austin Ditzel; Mariah Figueroa; Mellanie Flores; Aniah Gibbons-German; Vlad Groshev; Grace Halter; Courtney Hand; Sam Hand; Alexander Harkins; Destinee Hawkins; Kyleigh Johnson; Jocelyn Jones; Macy Lambert; Sydney Lambert; Elizabeth Lascarez; Juliet Leos; Steven Likanchuk; Julia Lotkowska; Holly Lyman; Scott Lyman; Millie Martinez-Sosa; Sachira Matias-Feliciano; Hunter McChesney; Fernanda Mendoza-Chavez; Melody Mercado; Noemi Montiel-Hernandez; Marvin Mutts; Briana Olivero; Tiziana Olivero; Dhara Patel; Zeel Patel; Briana Pettus; Kayley Price; Haleigh Purich; Mackenzy Robbins; Xitlalit Rodriguez; Taylor Rothmel; Samantha Serrano; Camelia Silva; Alexis Spencer; Adreana Stevenson; Mya Thomas; Anthony Tramontana; Luke Vastano; Layla Velez; Emily Venturi; Alise Webb; Angelina Weber; and Jason Wheeler.