By: SNJ Today Staff
ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. – Officials from the Atlantic City Police Department have announced that the department will start to enforce the Juvenile Curfew Act.
The curfew starts at 10 p.m. and ends at 6 a.m. for people under the age of 18 years-old. Officers will stop anyone appearing under the age of 18 without a parent or guardian after 10 p.m. Penalties could include fines up to $1,000.00 and community service.
There will be some exceptions to the curfew those include, emergencies, coming from work, and being with a parent or guardian.
The Juvenile Curfew Act was enacted by the City Council in 2006 to stop the increase in juvenile violence, juvenile gang activity and crimes by people under the age of 18 years-old.
Officials with the ACPD said they want to “eliminate potential victims that are hanging out on the street with no purpose.”
They say that violent crimes happen after 10 p.m. in the city. With taking out potential victims, the ACPD thinks it can reduce the number of crimes in the city.
The ACPD also states that they hope the curb the recent violence against youth and crimes committed by the city’s youth.
See the full statement below:
- New Jersey’s Unemployment Rate Continues to Drop
- Goblins, Ghouls, And Ghosts Gather Around GloCo All Month Long
- County Bans Single-Use Plastic Beginning Next Year
SNJ Today is a Southern New Jersey news and information source that is dedicated to providing current stories related specifically to South Jersey.
Do you have community news or events? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org